Zohar Wayera



Lurianic Corrections to the Zohar Text

Julien Darmon

The text of the standard edition of The Zohar, that of Vilna (1895), sometimes differs significantly from that of the original Mantua edition. We will take a specific example of such differences, retrace its origin and highlight the debates to which it has given rise.1The main body of this presentation is taken from Yosef Avivi’s monumental work, Qabbalat ha-Ari (Makhon Ben-Tsvi, Jerusalem, 2008), vol. III, p. 1120-1129, courtesy of the author. .

The Mantua Zohar in Safed

Firstly, one should point out that it was the Mantua edition and not the competing Cremona edition that was mainly distributed to the cabalists of Safed, as well as in Italy. As Yosef Avivi1 points out;2 Yosef Avivi, Qabbalat Ha Ari , op . cit ., flight. I, p. 253, n. 104. ; the Cremona edition was mainly distributed in Germany and Poland. There are variants between these two editions. As R. Moshe Zacuto (1625-1697) wrote to his correspondent R. Shimshon Baqi: “It is not appropriate to base oneself on the“ Big Zohar ” [l’édition de Crémone], but only on the “Little Zohar ” [l’édition de Mantoue], on the one hand because the first one is almost impossible to find here, on the other hand because it is full of mistakes and the emendations of the Rav’s [R. Isaac Luria] that I published under the title Derekh Emet do not enable one to remedy it because the paginations do not correspond and in case, there are so many typos in the “Big” that it is impossible to correct them all 23 Mr. Zacuto, Iggerot ha-Ramaz , Livorno, 1790, 2a (ed. Ha-Ḥayyim we-ha-Shalom, Jerusalem, 1999 p. 5).. “

As far as I know, we have no absolute certainty that the cabalists of Safed had a copy of the printed edition of the Zohar in their hands, although the opposite would be surprising: for the record, the Mantua edition dates from……. , even though R. Moshe Cordovero died in , R. Isaac Luria arrived in Safed that same year and R. Moshe Cordovero, like R. Joseph Caro and many others, was in close contact with Italy, especially for the printing of his own works. It is certain in any case that R. Ḥayyim Vital (1542-1620) used it for his drafting of the Lurianic corpus, since it incorporates in his texts the pagination references of the Zohar of Mantua4 See, for example, the facsimile of a manuscript in Sha’ar ha-Ma’amarim , Ahavat
Shalom, 2017, p.473 473.
.

How R. Isaac Luria Studied The Zohar

To summarize here the contribution of R. Isaac Luria to Kabbala, meaning to the understanding of the Zohar, would be a challenge. However Yosef Avivi has highlighted the interest in studying the Lurianic Kabbal not only in its systematic formatting that characterizes the most studied texts, such as the ‘Ets Ḥayyim , from several layers of elaboration by the different links of the Lurianic tradition – R. Ḥayyim Vital, R. Shmu’el Vital, R. Ya’aqov Tsemaḥ, R. Me’ir Poppers -, but by retracing the method of study by R. Isaac Luria, which always starts from a text of the Zohar, and by following the chronological order of his rare writings and teachings, in order to observe the genesis of new ideas.

R. Issac Luria himself writes5 In Sha’ar Ma’amarei Rashbi , Jerusalem 1959, 22a. that his essential contribution is the reading of the ten sefirot, not, like R. Moshe Cordovero, according to a three-level scheme – Arikh Anpin , Ze’ir Anpin and Nuqva -, but according to a five-level scheme – Arikh Anpin , Abba , Imma , Ze’ir Anpin and Nuqva -, and that this new paradigm is the result of a careful comparative reading of the two darkest parts of the Zohar, the Idra Rabba and the Idra Zutta . What essentially emerges from this new paradigm is a finer distinction between what Ze’ir Anpin receives from Arikh Anpin and what he gets from Abba and Imma in terms of “supplements of being”, which he calls moḥin , “Brains”.

However the Idra Zutta is essentially devoted to these questions, and we shall see that the Lurianic contribution had the effect of introducing “corrections” into the text of this Idra Zutta .

From Mantua to Vilna

In the Mantua edition (vol. III, 291a), the Zohar refers to “heir” ( yeruta ) of Ze’ir Anpin in the following terms :


הני ירותא דאבוי ואימיה ירית. מאי ירותא דא עטרין דהוו גניזין בגוויהו ואחסינו לבן דא מסטרא דאבוי הוה גניז בגוויה חד עטרא דאקרי חסד ומסטרא דאימא חד עטרא דאקרי גבירה וברוי לוי וי וי וי וי וי וי י
תפילין דרישא וכלא נטיל בן דא וירית כלא
Behold, he inherits the inheritance of his father and mother. What is this inheritance? These are the tiaras that were hidden in them and which they passed on as an inheritance to this son: on his father’s side was hidden in him a tiara called ḥessed , and on the mother’s side a tiara called gevura ; and they all come to crown his head and he unified them. And when the father and the mother cast their light upon him, all are called “ tefillin of the head ”and the son inherits the whole thing.

The Cremona edition bears exactly the same text, and this is also the lesson learned by Daniel Matt in his critical edition of the text of the Zohar , based on existing manuscripts5. On the other hand, the Vilna edition (1895), which is the basis for all contemporary editions, has a slightly different text, with the addition of four words:


הני ירותא דאבוי ואימיה ירית. מאי ירותא דא אחסנתא דאבוי ואימיה ותרין
… בגוויהו גניזין דהוו עטרין
Behold, he inherits the inheritance from his father and mother. What is this inheritance? It’s the legacy of his father and mother and the two tiaras that were hidden inside them …

The history of this modification must take into account that, in the Mantua edition already, the Zohar quotes itself, three pages later, in this way III, 292b):


בחללא דגלגלתא נהירין תלת נהורין ואי תימא תלת ארבע אינון כמה דאמינא אחסנתא דאבוי ואימיה תורין גניזין דילהון דמתעטרין כלהו ברישיה ואילון תפי
“In the cranial cavity shine three lights; what if you say “three?
but they are four of them, as we have said: the legacy of his father and his mother and their two hidden things all of which come to crown his head and are the “ tefillin of the head”… “

From R. Moshe Cordovero to R. Isaac Luria

It is difficult to explain, in this short contribution, what is at stake in these complex passages. Nevertheless; Let us try. The task of the Zohar is to match three levels of reality: the sefirotic level, where Ze’ir Anpin , the “Son” – which corresponds, to put it briefly, to the sefira Tif eret – receives a double influx from Abba , the “Father”, the sefira Ḥokhma , and from Imma , the “Mother”, the sefira bina ; the anatomical level, where the receptacles of these impulses must correspond to the ” three cavities of the skull ”(roughly speaking the left and right brains, as well as the cerebellum); and the halachic level, where these impulses “emerge” in the form of the four compartments of the tefillin of the head, which correspond to the four moḥin Ḥokhma , Bina , Ḥessed and Gevura (or rather the roots of Ḥessed and Gevura which are in Da’at ). How do you go from two to four? The first text seems to only speak of only two dimensions: the tiara of ḥessed and the tiara of gevura , which would be identified as inheritance ( yeruta ) of Abba and Imma , while the second text talks about the legacy ( aḥsanta ) of Abba and Imma and, on the other hand, two “hidden things”.

R. Moshe Cordovero, in his monumental commentary on the Zohar, Or Yaqar , scrupulously follows the lesson of Mantua and solves the problem in the following way: “the inheritance” or “legacy” of Abba and Imma are indeed the tiaras of ḥessed and of gevura which are in Da’at, according to the simple meaning of the text6 Mr. Cordovero, Zohar ‘im perush Or Yaqar, Jerusalem, 2003, vol. 22, p. 74-75., while “the two hidden things” are “the ḥokhma and the bina which are hidden and which complete them in their place, as has been explained7 Id . p. 115. “.

R. Isaac Luria, in his autograph commentary on another cryptic text of the Zohar on the same themes, the Sifra di-Tsni’uta , follows the same approach: “And this Son inherits the legacy of his father and his mother, who are the two tiaras which were hidden in Abba and Imma and which he now inherits, as found in the Idra Zutta 8In Y. Avivi, Qabbalat ha-Ari, flight. II, p. 996. The entirety of this commentary is given a critical edition which covers pages 947-1009. . We know that this commentary was composed early, before R. Isaac Luria came to teach in Safed. His definitive teaching offers a very different reading: on the one hand there is “the two moḥin of ḥokhma and bina … who are called in the IdraZutta (292b) “the legacy ( aḥsanta ) of his father and mother ”…”, and on the other hand “the two moḥin which together form Da’at, which is called ḥessed and gevura , which are called there “the two tiaras”, as the text says: “the legacy of his father and mother and their two hidden things”. “It should be noted that the expression:” the two tiaras “( trin ‘iṭrin ) does not appear in 292b, but only in 291a; it is imported here, in order to unify the two passages in a reading that is the opposite of the one received previously. R. Isaac Luria highlights the difference between yeruta , “Inheritance”, and aḥsanta , “Legacy”, to affirm that the “legacy of Abba and Imma » evoked in 292b corresponds to moḥin of ḥokhma and bina , while “the two hidden things” of 292b are identical to the “two hidden tiaras” of 291a and correspond to the moḥin of ḥessed and gevura . These do not strictly speaking come from Abba and Imma , they only transit through them.

The version that we have in the current editions, אחסנתא דא ירותא מאי בגוויהו גניזין דהוו עטרין ותרין ואימיה דאבוי, is therefore a collage between the Mantua version, בגוויהו גניזין דהוו עטרוו דאיזין דהוו רותא דאיזין דהוו עטרותא דא and what is said in the same edition further, גניזין תורין ואימיה דאבוי אחסנתא דאמינא כמה, based on the Lurianic reading of this text. How did it come to integrate the very text of the Zohar?

From Constantinople to Amsterdam and Livorno

As Daniel Abrams explained, the Mantua edition, althoughif it served as a basis for the work of the cabalists of Safed, was not considered by them as the definitive edition. R. Abraham Azulay (1570-1643), disciple of R. Moshe Cordovero, already notes that “the textual variants of the Zohar are more numerous than for any other book” and he compiles in his work Or ha-Levana all these variants on the basis of “ancient and precise manuscripts, works by R. Moshe Cordovero, a book from Egypt established from the glosses of R. Isaac Luria of which is said that he had six old manuscripts , and finally the Hebrew translation carried out by R. Israel Ankaoua9 RA Azulay, Or ha-Ḥama , Jerusalem, 1876, vol. I, p. III. “. Unfortunately, the only printed edition of Or ha-Levana covers only the first volume of The Zohar, so I am not in a position to say which version of our passage this book proposes to retain.

A “corrected” edition of the Zohar appeared in Constantinople in 1743. Its publisher, R. Yona b; R. Ya’aqov, writes in his introduction: “” God heard me and sent me this copy of the Zohar abandoned in a corner, brought from Aleppo, corrected letter after letter, word after word, from the copy of R. Ḥayyim Vital while he was residing in Damascus … Rav Moshe Mizraḥi writes that he devoted the years 1618-1663 to establish these corrections from copies of R. Ḥayyim Vital and R. Yehuda Mish’an, as well as those of R. Israel Benyamin, R. Menaḥem di Lonzano, R. Abraham Galante and the Sages of Jerusalem… ”It is in this edition that the version דא ירותא מאי בגוויה גניזין דהוו עטרין ותרין ואימיה דאבוי אחסנתא appears for the first time, which therefore comes from the annotated copy of R. Ḥayyim Vital himself

It is impossible for us, however, to determine the precise intention of this annotation: was it a correction to be made to the text itself, as the editor of the Constantinople Zohar understood it, or rather an explanatory gloss ? Impossible to know. Moreover, this problem is not specific to the Zohar, but runs through the entire history of publishing and philology. 10The reference work for the Hebrew book is Y. Sh. Spiegel, ‘ Amudim be-Toldot ha-Sefer ha-‘Ivri, flight. II, Hagahot u-magihim , Ramat-Gan, Bar-Ilan University Press, 2nd edition, 2005..

The inclusion of these glosses in the Constantinople edition did not meet with unanimous approval among the later editors, who were at the same time leading cabalists. R. Shalom Buzaglo (c. 1700-1780), author of Miqdash Melekh , a reference Lurianic commentary of the Zohar, published in Amsterdam in 1793 an edition of the Zohar in which he criticized the introduction of these glosses in the text itself; for his own text, he practically returned to the Mantua edition. He just adds the word “two” בגוויה גניזין דהוו עטרין תרין דא ירותא מאי – which was already the case, but only as a marginal gloss, in the edition published in Amsterdam in 1715, between that of Mantua and that of Constantinople therefore. But this addition does not change the meaning of the text.

Another immense contemporary cabalist, R. Ḥayyim Yosef David Azulay (1724-1806), considers the criticisms made by R. Shalom Buzaglo to be unjustified, and above all llegitimate, and publishes in Livorno in 1793 a vocalized edition of the Zohar which takes up the text of Constantinople. This position was also adopted by the publishers of Vilna in 1895, as well as the publishers of Zhitamir in 1863 and Izmir in 1876. before it. Finally, let us point out the 1858 edition of Livorno, by Moshe Yesha’yah Tubiana, which incorporates both the marginal comments of R. Ḥayyim Yosef David Azulay as well as his introduction, as the commentary by R. Moshe Zacuto and the Miqdash Melekh by R. Shalom Buzaglo – an edition that is intended to be quite “complete”, therefore – presents a variant that we have not seen attested elsewhere:


מאי ירותא דא אחסנתא דאבוי ואימיה תרין עטרין דהוו גניזין בגוויהו …
“What is this legacy? It’s the legacy of his father and mother, the two tiaras that were hidden inside them… ”

This edition takes up the Constantinople variant , but just skips the waw before trin , so that that one no longer has “the legacy of his father and mother and the two tiaras ”but only“ the legacy of his father and mother, the two tiaras ”, which is in the sense of the Mantua edition…

Conclusion

The stakes of using to old editions of the Zohar, particularly the Mantua edition,are therefore high. This is the edition in relation to which the kabalists of Safed, R. Moshe Cordovero and R. Isaac Luria in particular, were necessarily led to position themselves. The fact that in his commentary on Sifra di-Tsni’uta, R. Isaac Luria follows the obviousness of the Mantua lesson , shows that the reading which he will later adopt does not result from the choice of another version, on the basis of a manuscript which would be unknown to us, but from a hermeneutical work within the text of the Zohar as presented to us in the Mantua edition. The work of the later publishers, at least in part, in harmonizing the text of the Zohar, on the basis of the marginal glosses of the first pupils of R. Isaac Luria’s, in a way that makes the Lurianic interpretation more immediate. This work is necessarily at the expense of a correct understanding of both the non-Lurianic commentaries of the Zohar and of the exegetical approach of R. Isaac Luria himself. This state of affairs is not specific to the Zohar: the Babylonian Talmud has also been corrected according to the variants that Rashi proposed to retain, which means that today, when Rashi tells us that ” we must retain the variant b »And that our text already bears variant b , we no longer have access to variant at that Rashi had in front of him, and therefore the problems he was confronted with; fortunately the Tossafot often come to defend the said variant at and thus allow us to grasp the exegetical stakes of these differences. The same is true in the present insistance

0 Commentaires
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Scroll to Top

Zohar Torah

Les corrections lurianiques du texte du Zohar

Julien Darmon


Le texte de l’édition standard du Zohar, celle de Vilna (1895), diffère parfois sensiblement de celui de l’édition originale de Mantoue. Nous allons prendre un exemple précis de telles différences, retracer son origine et mettre en lumière les débats auxquels elle a donné lieu1L’essentiel de cette présentation est repris de l’ouvrage monumental de Yosef Avivi, Qabbalat ha-Ari (Makhon Ben-Tsvi, Jérusalem, 2008), vol. III, p. 1120-1129, avec l’aimable autorisation de l’auteur. .

Le Zohar de Mantoue à Safed

Précisons tout d’abord que c’est l’édition de Mantoue et non celle, concurrente, de Crémone qui a essentiellement été diffusée auprès des cabalistes de Safed, ainsi qu’en Italie, comme le précise Yosef Avivi2 Yosef Avivi, Qabbalat haAri, op. cit., vol. I, p. 253, n. 104. ; celle de Crémone était essentiellement diffusée en Allemagne et en Pologne. Il existe des variantes entre ces deux éditions, ainsi que l’écrit R. Moshe Zacuto (1625-1697) à son correspondant R. Shimshon Baqi : « Il ne convient pas de se baser sur le “Grand Zohar” [l’édition de Crémone], mais uniquement sur le “Petit Zohar” [l’édition de Mantoue], d’une part parce que le premier est quasiment introuvable chez nous, d’autre part parce qu’il est plein de fautes et que les émendations du Rav [R. Isaac Luria] que j’ai publiées sous le titre Derekh Emet ne permettent pas d’y remédier du fait que les paginations ne correspondent pas ; et de toute façon, il y a tellement de coquilles dans le “Grand” qu’il est impossible de toutes les corriger3 M. Zacuto, Iggerot ha-Ramaz, Livourne, 1790, 2a (éd. Ha-Ḥayyim we-ha-Shalom, Jérusalem, 1999 p. 5).. »

À ma connaissance, nous n’avons pas de certitude absolue que les cabalistes de Safed aient eu entre les mains un exemplaire de l’édition imprimée du Zohar, quoique le contraire serait étonnant : pour mémoire, l’édition de Mantoue date de 1558, cependant que R. Moshe Cordovero décède en 1570, que R. Isaac Luria arrive à Safed cette même année et que R. Moshe Cordovero, tout comme R. Joseph Caro et bien d’autres encore, était en contact étroit avec l’Italie, notamment pour l’impression de ses propres ouvrages. Il est certain en tout cas que R. Ḥayyim Vital (1542-1620) y a recours pour sa rédaction du corpus lurianique, puisqu’il intègre dans ses textes les références de pagination du Zohar de Mantoue4 Cf., par exemple, le fac-similé d’un manuscrit dans Sha‘ar ha-Ma’amarim, Ahavat
Shalom, 2017, p. 473.
.

Comment R. Isaac Luria étudiait le Zohar

Résumer ici l’apport de R. Isaac Luria à la cabale, c’est-à-dire essentiellement à la compréhension du Zohar, serait une gageure. Yosef Avivi a cependant mis en lumière l’intérêt qu’il y a à étudier la cabale lurianique non pas uniquement dans sa mise en forme systématique qui caractérise les textes les plus étudiés, comme le ‘Ets Ḥayyim, issus de plusieurs couches d’élaboration par les différents maillons de la tradition lurianique – R. Ḥayyim Vital, R. Shmu’el Vital, R. Ya‘aqov Tsemaḥ, R. Me’ir Poppers –, mais en retraçant la méthode d’étude propre de R. Isaac Luria, qui part toujours d’un texte du Zohar, et en suivant l’ordre chronologique de ses rares écrits et de ses enseignements, afin d’observer la genèse des idées nouvelles.

R. Issac Luria lui-même écrit5 Dans Sha‘ar Ma’amarei Rashbi, Jérusalem 1959, 22a. que son apport essentiel est la lecture des dix sefirot, non pas, comme R. Moshe Cordovero, selon un schème à trois niveaux – Arikh Anpin, Ze‘ir Anpin et Nuqva –, mais à cinq niveaux– Arikh Anpin, Abba, Imma, Ze‘ir Anpin et Nuqva –, et que ce nouveau paradigme est issu d’une lecture comparée attentive des deux parties les plus obscures du Zohar, la Idra Rabba et la Idra Zutta. Ce qui ressort essentiellement de ce nouveau paradigme est une distinction plus fine entre ce que Ze‘ir Anpin reçoit de Arikh Anpin et ce qu’il reçoit de Abba et Imma en termes de « suppléments d’être », qu’il appelle moḥin, « cerveaux ».

Or la Idra Zutta est essentiellement consacrée à ces questions, et l’on va voir que l’apport lurianique a eu pour effet d’introduire des « corrections » dans le texte de cette Idra Zutta.

De Mantoue à Vilna

Dans l’édition de Mantoue (vol. III, 291a), le Zohar évoque « l’héritage » (yeruta) de Ze‘ir Anpin en ces termes :


הני ירותא דאבוי ואימיה ירית. מאי ירותא דא עטרין דהוו גניזין בגוויהו ואחסינו לבן דא מסטרא דאבוי הוה גניז בגוויה חד עטרא דאקרי חסד ומסטרא דאימא חד עטרא דאקרי גבורה וכלהו מתעטרין ברישיה ואחיד לון וכד נהרין אלין אב ואם עלייהו כלהו אקרין
תפילין דרישא וכלא נטיל בן דא וירית כלא
Voici qu’il hérite de l’héritage de son père et de sa mère. Quel est cet héritage ? Ce sont les diadèmes qui étaient cachés en eux et qu’ils ont transmis en héritage à ce fils : du côté de son père était caché en lui un diadème appelé ḥessed, et du côté de la mère un diadème appelé gevura ; et tou(te)s viennent couronner sa tête et il les unifie. Et lorsque le père et la mère épanchent sur lui leur lumière, tous sont appelés “tefillin de la tête” et le fils prend le tout, il hérite du tout.

L’édition de Crémone porte exactement le même texte, et c’est également la leçon retenue par Daniel Matt dans son édition critique du texte du Zohar, sur la base des manuscrits existants5. En revanche, l’édition de Vilna (1895), qui sert de base à toutes les éditions contemporaines, porte un texte légèrement différent, par l’ajout de quatre mots :


הני ירותא דאבוי ואימיה ירית. מאי ירותא דא אחסנתא דאבוי ואימיה ותרין
…בגוויהו גניזין דהוו עטרין
Voici qu’il hérite de l’héritage de son père et de sa mère. Quel est cet héritage ? Ce sont le legs de son père et de sa mère ainsi que les deux diadèmes qui étaient cachés en eux…

L’histoire de cette modification doit prendre en compte que, dans l’édition de Mantoue déjà, le Zohar se cite lui-même, trois pages plus loin, de cette façon III, 292b) :


בחללא דגלגלתא נהירין תלת נהורין ואי תימא תלת ארבע אינון כמה דאמינא אחסנתא דאבוי  ואימיה תורין גניזין דילהון דמתעטרין כלהו ברישיה ואינון תפילין דרישא
« Dans la cavité crânienne brillent trois lumières ; et si tu dis “trois ?
mais elles sont quatre, comme on l’a dit : le legs de son père et de sa mère et leurs deux choses cachées qui tous viennent couronner sa tête et sont les “tefillin de la tête”… »

De R. Moshe Cordovero à R. Isaac Luria

Il est difficile d’expliquer, dans le cadre de cette courte contribution, l’enjeu de ces passages complexes. Essayons néanmoins. Le problème du Zohar est de faire correspondre trois niveaux de réalité : le niveau séfirotique, où Ze‘ir Anpin, le « Fils » – qui correspond, pour le dire rapidement, à la sefira Tiferet – reçoit un double influx, de Abba, le « Père », la sefira Ḥokhma, et de Imma, la « Mère », la sefira Bina ; le niveau anatomique, où les réceptacles de ces influx doivent correspondre aux « trois cavités du crâne » (en gros, les cerveaux gauche et droit, ainsi que le cervelet) ;  et le niveau halakhique, où ces influx « ressortent » sous la forme des quatre compartiments des tefillin de la tête, lesquels correspondent aux quatre moḥin Ḥokhma, Bina, Ḥessed et Gevura (ou plutôt les racines de Ḥessed et Gevura qui sont en Da‘at). Comment passe-t-on de deux à quatre ? Le premier texte semble ne parler que de deux dimensions : le diadème de ḥessed et le diadème de gevura, qui seraient identifiés comme l’héritage (yeruta) de  Abba et Imma, tandis que le second texte parle d’une part du legs (aḥsanta) de Abba et Imma et, d’autre part, de deux « choses cachées ».

R. Moshe Cordovero, dans son monumental commentaire du Zohar, Or Yaqar, suit scrupuleusement la leçon de Mantoue et résout le problème de la façon suivante : « l’héritage » ou le « legs » de Abba et Imma sont bien les diadèmes de ḥessed et de gevura qui sont en Da‘at, selon le sens simple du texte6 M. Cordovero, Zohar ‘im perush Or Yaqar, Jérusalem, 2003, vol. 22, p. 74-75., cependant que « les deux choses cachées » sont « la ḥokhma et la bina qui sont cachées et qui complètent celles-ci en leur lieu, comme on l’a expliqué7Id. p. 115. ».

R. Isaac Luria, dans son commentaire autographe d’un autre texte cryptique du Zohar portant sur les mêmes thèmes, le Sifra di-Tsni‘uta, suit la même approche : « Et ce Fils hérite du legs de son père et de sa mère, qui sont les deux diadèmes qui étaient cachés dans Abba et Imma et dont il hérite à présent, comme on le trouve dans la Idra Zutta 8Dans Y. Avivi, Qabbalat ha-Ari, vol. II, p. 996. L’intégralité de ce commentaire se voit gratifiée d’une édition critique qui couvre les pages 947-1009. . » On sait que ce commentaire a été composé tôt, avant que R. Isaac Luria ne vienne dispenser son enseignement à Safed. Son enseignement définitif offre une lecture bien différente : il existe d’une part« les deux moḥin de ḥokhma et bina… qui sont appelés dans la IdraZutta (292b) “le legs (aḥsanta) de son père et de sa mère”… », et d’autre part « les deux moḥin qui forment ensemble Da‘at, qu’on appelle ḥessed et gevura, qui sont appelés là-bas “les deux diadèmes”, comme le dit le texte : “le legs de son père et de sa mère et leurs deux choses cachées”. » On remarquera que l’expression : « les deux diadèmes » (trin ‘iṭrin) ne figure pas en 292b, mais uniquement en 291a ; elle est ici importée, afin d’unifier les deux passages dans une lecture qui est l’inverse que celle reçue précédemment. R. Isaac Luria met en lumière la différence entre yeruta, « héritage », et aḥsanta, « legs », pour affirmer que le « legs de Abba et Imma» évoqué en 292b correspond aux moḥin de ḥokhma et bina, tandis que « les deux choses cachées » de 292b sont identiques aux « deux diadèmes cachés » de 291a et correspondent aux moḥin de ḥessed et gevura. Ceux-ci ne viennent pas à proprement parler de Abba et Imma, ils ne font que transiter par eux.

La version que l’on a dans les éditions actuelles, אחסנתא דא ירותא מאי בגוויהו גניזין דהוו עטרין ותרין ואימיה דאבוי, est donc un collage entre la version de Mantoue, בגוויהו גניזין דהוו עטרין דא ירותא מאי, et ce qui est dit dans la même édition plus loin, גניזין תורין ואימיה דאבוי אחסנתא דאמינא כמה, sur la base de la lecture lurianique de ce texte. Comment en est-elle venue à intégrer le texte même du Zohar ?

De Constantinople à Amsterdam et à Livourne

Ainsi que l’a exposé Daniel Abrams, l’édition de Mantoue, si elle a servi de base de travail aux cabalistes de Safed, n’était pas considérée par eux comme l’édition définitive. R. Abraham Azulay (1570-1643), disciple de R. Moshe Cordovero, note déjà que « les variantes textuelles du Zohar sont plus nombreuses que pour n’importe quel autre livre » et il compile dans son ouvrage Or ha-Levana toutes ces variantes sur la base « des manuscrits anciens et précis, des ouvrages de R. Moshe Cordovero, d’un livre venu d’Égypte établi à partir des gloses de R. Isaac Luria dont on dit qu’il disposait de six manuscrits anciens, et enfin de la traduction hébraïque effectuée par R. Israël Ankaoua9 R. A. Azulay, Or ha-Ḥama, Jérusalem, 1876, vol. I, p. III. ». La seule édition imprimée de Or ha-Levana ne couvre malheureusement que le premier volume du Zohar, et je ne suis donc pas en mesure de dire quelle version de notre passage cet ouvrage proposait de retenir.

C’est en 1743 que paraît à Constantinople une édition « corrigée » du Zohar. Son éditeur, R. Yona b ; R. Ya‘aqov, écrit dans son introduction : « « Dieu m’a exaucé et m’a fait parvenir entre les mains cet exemplaire du Zohar abandonné dans un coin, apporté d’Alep, corrigé lettre après lettre, mot après mot, à partir de l’exemplaire de R. Ḥayyim Vital alors qu’il résidait à Damas… Le Rav Moshe Mizraḥi écrit qu’il a consacré les années 1618-1663 à établir ces corrections à partir des exemplaires de R. Ḥayyim Vital et de R. Yehuda  Mish‘an, ainsi que de ceux de R. Israël Benyamin, de R. Menaḥem di Lonzano, de R. Abraham Galante et des Sages de Jérusalem… » C’est dans cette édition qu’apparaît pour la première fois la version דא ירותא מאי בגוויה גניזין דהוו עטרין ותרין ואימיה דאבוי אחסנתא, qui vient donc de l’exemplaire annoté de R. Ḥayyim Vital lui-même

Il nous est cependant impossible de déterminer quelle était l’intention précise de cette annotation : s’agissait-il pour lui d’une correction à apporter au texte même, comme l’a compris l’éditeur du Zohar de Constantinople, ou plutôt d’une glose explicative ? Impossible de le savoir. Cette problématique n’est d’ailleurs pas spécifique au Zohar, mais traverse toute l’histoire de l’édition et de la philologie 10L’ouvrage de référence pour ce qui est du livre hébraïque est Y. Sh. Spiegel,‘Amudim be-Toldot ha-Sefer ha-‘Ivri, vol. II, Hagahot u-magihim, Ramat-Gan, Presses de l’université Bar-Ilan, 2e édition, 2005..

L’intégration de ces gloses dans l’édition de Constantinople n’a pas fait l’unanimité chez les éditeurs ultérieurs, qui étaient en même temps des cabalistes de premier plan. R. Shalom Buzaglo (v. 1700-1780), auteur du Miqdash Melekh, commentaire lurianique de référence sur le Zohar, publie en 1793 à Amsterdam une édition du Zohar dans laquelle il critique l’introduction de ces gloses dans le texte même ; pour son propre texte, il revient quasiment à l’édition de Mantoue. Il rajoute juste le mot « deux » בגוויה גניזין דהוו עטרין תרין דא ירותא מאי – ce qui était déjà le cas, mais en glose marginale, de l’édition publiée à Amsterdam en 1715, entre celle de Mantoue et celle de Constantinople donc. Mais cet ajout ne change pas le sens du texte.

Un autre immense cabaliste contemporain, R. Ḥayyim Yosef David Azulay (1724-1806), juge pour sa part injustifiées, et surtout illégitimes, les critiques émises par R. Shalom Buzaglo et publie à Livourne en 1793 une édition vocalisée du Zohar qui reprend le texte de Constantinople. C’est cette position qu’adopteront également les éditeurs de Vilna en 1895 tout comme, avant elle, les éditions de Zhito- mir en 1863 et d’Izmir en 1876. Signalons enfin l’édition de Livourne de 1858, due à Moshe Yesha‘yah Tubiana, qui intègre aussi bien les commentaires marginaux de R. Ḥayyim Yosef David Azulay ainsi que son introduction, que les commentaires de R. Moshe Zacuto et le Miqdash Melekh de R. Shalom Buzaglo – édition qui se veut assez « complète », donc –, présente une variante que nous n’avons pas vu attestée ailleurs :


מאי ירותא דא אחסנתא דאבוי ואימיה תרין עטרין דהוו גניזין בגוויהו …
« Quel est cet héritage ? Ce sont le legs de son père et de sa mère, les deux diadèmes qui étaient cachés en eux… »

Cette édition reprend la variante de Constantinople, mais fait juste sauter le waw avant trin, ce qui fait que l’on n’a plus « le legs de son père et de sa mère ainsi que les deux diadèmes » mais uniquement « le legs de son père et de sa mère, les deux diadèmes », ce qui revient au sens de l’édition de Mantoue…

Conclusion

L’enjeu du recours aux éditions anciennes du Zohar, en particulier à celle de Mantoue, est donc de taille. Il s’agit de l’édition par rapport à laquelle les cabalistes de Safed, R. Moshe Cordovero et R. Isaac Luria en particulier, étaient nécessairement amenés à se positionner. Le fait que, dans son commentaire sur le Sifra di-Tsni‘uta, R. Isaac Luria suive le sens obvie de la leçon de Mantoue, montre bien que la lecture qu’il finira plus tard par adopter ne résulte pas du choix d’une autre version, sur la base d’un manuscrit qui nous serait inconnu, mais bien d’un travail herméneutique à l’intérieur du texte du Zohar tel que nous le présente l’édition de Mantoue. Le travail des éditeurs ultérieurs a en partie consisté, au moins par endroits, à harmoniser le texte du Zohar, sur la base des gloses marginales des premiers élèves de R. Isaac Luria, dans un sens qui rende l’interprétation lurianique plus immédiate. Ce travail se fait nécessairement aux dépens d’une com- préhension juste, aussi bien des commentaires non lurianiques du Zohar que de la démarche exégétique de R. Isaac Luria lui-même. Cet état de fait n’est d’ailleurs pas spécifique au Zohar : le Talmud de Babylone lui aussi a été corrigé en fonction des variantes que Rashi proposait de retenir, ce qui fait qu’aujourd’hui, quand Rashi nous dit qu’« il faut retenir la variante b » et que notre texte porte déjà la variante b, nous n’avons plus accès à la variante a que Rashi avait sous les yeux, et donc la problématique à laquelle il était confronté ; heureusement que les Tossafot viennent souvent défendre ladite variante a et nous permettent ainsi de saisir les enjeux exégétiques de ces différences. Il en va de même ici.

0 Commentaires
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Retour haut de page